Nose Dive

So it’s hard to know where to begin to bring you up to speed on the time that’s passed since my Bali update! There have been a few ups and downs as Chris and I adjust to our new lives, and this includes our work life. I’ve started in my lab and nearly two weeks have passed since I had that first day there! I’ve enjoyed my time, there are many new things and I’m excited to see what my project on Hepatitis B has in store for me.

The past weeks we’ve also managed to go out in the evenings and explore a little more and meet new people. There are many instances where I’m pushed outside of my comfort zone, but I do my best to welcome these moments because I can feel my boundaries shifting and I walk away from these moments with a fresh perspective on what this life is all about. Not that I feel any closer to answering that question. I just come to value good friends and family more as I’m away, because no matter how great the new people are that you meet – deep friendships and strong family bonds are not simply replaced. But I meet new people wearing my silly grin, I stay curious and I keep moving forward, excited about the things that day has in store for me. With the occasional pinch as I remember where I am and what I’m doing here.

So tomorrow I’ll roll out of bed, put my feet flat on the ground and take the next step into this new world I’m discovering. Not unlike an early European explorer discovering the New World, I’m doing a nose dive all wide-eyed into this ultra-urban city with streams of stark contrasts to my lovely Northern Alberta upbringing and even my European roots flowing in. But that nose dive is much more palpable when you’re in hand-in-hand with your best friend.

blog
Having a coffee in Bali, clueless as to what the next weeks had in store for us.
Leave a Reply

